Question: When Should I Erase My IPhone?

Is it bad to factory reset your iPhone?

It will not remove the device’s operating system (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) but will go back to its original set of apps and settings.

Also, resetting it doesn’t harm your phone, even if you end up doing it multiple times..

Does erase iPhone delete everything?

The best way to do this is to sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings from your device before handing it over. This completely erases your device, turns off Find My iPhone, and removes the device from your Apple ID account. In iOS 10.3 or later: Tap Settings > [your name] > iCloud.

Can you remotely delete photos from iPhone?

You can remotely delete iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch or iPod Touch data from your lost device by using the brilliant “Find My iPhone” App. You can also delete the data by logging in to the iCloud website from any computer.

What will happen if I erase iPhone from iCloud?

What happens when you erase a device in Find My iPhone?A confirmation email is sent to your Apple ID email address.Activation Lock remains on to protect it. … After you erase a device, you can’t use Find My iPhone to locate the device or play a sound on it. … Apple Pay is disabled for your device.More items…

Is a hard reset the same as a factory reset?

The two terms factory and hard reset are associated with settings. A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. … The factory reset makes the device function again in a new form. It cleans the entire system of the device.

What does erase my iPhone do?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

Will erasing iPhone unlock it?

If you both erase the phone and remove it from your account, the activation lock is removed and the device will be usable by someone else. If you have a passcode on it, or it’s in Lost Mode, your data is safe and the device will never be re-useable.

What happens when you erase an iPhone remotely?

When you erase a device remotely using Find My, Activation Lock remains on to protect it. Your Apple ID and password are required to reactivate it. After you erase a device, you can’t use Find My to locate the device or play a sound on it. … See the Apple Support article Manage the cards that you use with Apple Pay.

What are the disadvantages of factory reset?

Disadvantages of FRP (Factory Reset Protection) LockYou may end up in losing your data.It’s technically a breach of Android settings.It may be risky.Data stored on external storage can’t be erased.All your information will be deleted and you can’t restore it back unless you’ve taken its backup.More items…•Nov 29, 2019

How do I make sure my iPhone is completely wiped?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset. … Choose Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•Oct 21, 2020

How do you permanently erase data so that it Cannot be recovered?

Go to Settings > Security > Advanced and tap Encryption & credentials. Select Encrypt phone if the option isn’t already enabled. Next, go to Settings > System > Advanced and tap Reset options. Select Erase all data (factory reset) and press Delete all data.

Does erasing old iPhone delete new one?

No, it will not. Erasing the old device will not affect the new one. That is necessary for you to be able to wipe the device.

Does deleting iPhone photos delete them from iCloud?

When you delete a photo or video from your Photos app, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and iCloud storage. You can recover your photos and videos from the Recently Deleted album for 30 days.

Will a hard reset delete everything on my phone?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

What does erase this device do?

Erase device: Permanently deletes all data on your phone (but might not delete SD cards). After you erase, Find My Device won’t work on the phone. Important: If you find your phone after erasing, you’ll likely need your Google Account password to use it again. Learn about device protection.